Sufficient Courage

Posted: September 19, 2008 in Uncategorized

Philippians 1:20 ” I eagerly expect and hope that I will in no way be ashamed, but will have SUFFICIENT COURAGE so that now as always Christ will be exalted in my body, whether by life or death.”

.

What is sufficient courage?  It seems to me that Paul makes no distinction between sufficient courage and actually dying for the cause of Christ, which he did.  Constantly in jail, beaten, snake bitten, and so on.

.

In America, sufficient courage takes on a little bit different of a picture.  We do not have to die for Christ in America like many people have to in much of the world.  Right now, Christians are being persecuted to death in Indonesia, and China.  Guess what waYne, the church is exploding in these countries.  They are growing because of the serious commitment to having sufficient courage in Christ.  On the other side, we don’t have sufficient courage to say no to temptation, let alone the courage to die.

.

In America, awe are not being called to die.  We are being called to live, and DIE to ourselves and to our selfish nature.  We simply have to live, in a not so simple world.  If not, the Christ that we have come to know and love will disappear from the history books.

.

God, I want to have sufficient courage to say NO to myself and to turn away from the evil desires that so often permeate my heart.  God, please open me up and pour out your courage.  The courage not only to di, but to live.

waYne

Leave a comment